AFS Section Prizes and Award Winners Recognized at 2022 Annual Meeting

AFS News, Annual Meeting News, Prizes
stylized weave of 4 wavy red lines interwoven with 4 more red wavy lines

The American Folklore Society congratulates all the honorees and prize recipients named in 2022. For more information on prizes and honors awarded by AFS and its sections, please click here.

The Transnational Asia/Pacific Section awarded the 2022 Saboohi I. Khan Award for Student Scholarship in Asian and Asian American Folklore to Lei Ting, a Ph.D. Candidate in the department of Area Studies at the University of Tokyo.

The Folklore and Science Prize – Senior Winner 2022 was awarded to Claiborne Rice, Associate Professor of English in Louisiana State University.

The honorable mentions for the 2022 Folklore & Science Junior Prize are Daisy Ahlstone (Ph.D. student and a Graduate Research Associate at the Ohio State University) and Nicholas Miller (Teaching Assistant and a PhD candidate at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)

The Women’s Section awarded the 2022 Polly Stewart Student Travel Stipend to Ojaswini Hooda, a Ph.D student in the Department of Modern Indian Languages and Literary Studies, University of Delhi (India). The second prize for the 2022 Polly Stewart Travel Stipend was awarded to Millie Tullis, a graduate student at Utah State University.

The John Wesley Work III Award 2022 was awarded to Karen Collins (African American Miniature Museum).

The W. W. Newell Prize 2022 was awarded to Nikki Christensen (Utah State University) and Stephen Lochetto (Penn State Harrisburg).

The Aesop Prize and Accolades 2022 were awarded to the writer Nadja Spiegelman.

The Women’s and Independent Folklorists’ Sections Annual Meeting Award 2022 was awarded to Justine Orlovsky-Schnitzler, an MA student of Folklore at UNC-Chapel Hill, writer, reproductive justice worker, freelance folklorist and Crystal Good, culture worker, artist, advocate, publisher, and entrepreneur.

The Children’s Folklore Section awarded the 2022 Aesop Prize to Angela McAllister for her book A Bedtime Full of Stories

The Children’s Folklore Section awarded the 2022 Aesop Accolades to Gunvor Bjerre for the anthology The Man of the Moon and Kevin Crossley-Holland for his book Across the Rainbow Bridge: Stories of the Norse Gods.

The Iona and Peter Opie Prize 2022 was awarded to Margaret Bennett (Professor, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland), author of Dundee Street Songs, Rhymes and Games: The William Montgomerie Collection, 1952 (Grace Note Publications, 2021) and Jeanne Pitre Soileau (Retired University and K-12 Teacher), author of What the Children Said: Child Lore of South Louisiana (University Press of Mississippi, 2021)

The Women’s Section awarded the 2022 Elli Köngäs-Maranda Professional/Non-Student prize to Carrie Hertz, the Curator of Textiles and Dress, Museum of International Folk Art for editing the collection of essays Dressing with Purpose: Belonging and Resistance in Scandinavia (Indiana University Press, 2021). The honorable mention for the 2022 Elli Köngäs-Maranda Professional Prize goes to Mary Magoulick (Georgia College) for the book The Goddess Myth in Contemporary Literature and Popular Culture: A Feminist Critique (University Press of Mississippi 2022).

The Folk Belief and Religious Folklife Section awarded the 2022 Elaine J. Lawless Graduate Student Travel Award to Ojaswini Hooda, a Ph.D student in the Department of Modern Indian Languages and Literary Studies, University of Delhi (India) and Millie Tullis (Utah State University).

The Women’s Section awarded the 2022 Elli Köngäs-Maranda student paper prize to Alina Cash Oprelianska, a Doctoral student at University of Tartu, Estonia. The honorable mention for the 2022 Elli Köngäs Maranda Student Paper Prize honorable goes to Molly McBride, a doctoral student at University of Oregon.

The History and Folklore Section awarded the 2022 Wayland D. Hand Prize to Tyler D. Parry, the assistant professor of African American and African Diaspora Studies, University of Nevada-Las Vegas.

The Public Programming Section awarded the 2022 Archie Green Student Travel Award to Ojaswini Hooda (a Ph.D student at the University of Delhi, India), Micah Ling (a PhD candidate at Indiana University Bloomington), and Sylas Alvarez (student at Western Kentucky University)

The Barbro Klein Prize in Nordic and Baltic Folklore 2022 was awarded to Mirva Johnson, a PhD Candidate in the Department of German, Nordic, and Slavic at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The AFS Public Programs Section and the Independent Folklorists’ Section awarded the 2022 Independent and Public Folklorist Sections Travel Award to Phoebe Millerwhite, an independent folklorist, artist, and educator.

The Foodways Section of the American Folklore Society awarded the 2022 Sue Samuelson Award to Anna Reepschlager, a master’s student at Memorial University.

We sometimes make mistakes, and we are happy to correct any errors that you may come across on our site. If you find an error, please let us know using the “submit a correction” link.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Share your news

Have some important news to share? We can help you get it out there! Fill out the submission form and send it our way.