Our WorkPrizes and Grants

Elli Köngäs-Maranda Prizes

Each year, the Women’s Section of the American Folklore Society awards two prizes in honor of pioneering scholar Elli Köngäs-Maranda. The prizes recognize superior work on women’s traditional, vernacular, or local culture and/or feminist theory and folklore. The content of the nominations must focus on some aspect of women’s folklore. Prize recipients do not have to be members of the American Folklore Society.

Submission deadline: July 15, 2022

The section will announce awards in late September.

EKM Student Prize

  • For an undergraduate or graduate student paper (up to 30 pages in length), produced as part of a degree program
  • Entrants must either be currently enrolled in a degree program as of the submission deadline or have been enrolled within the academic year ending in 2022
  • Carries an award of $100

EKM Professional/Non-Student Prize

  • Eligible work includes: publications, films, videos, exhibitions or exhibition catalogues, or sound recordings.
  • Materials must have been published/produced between August 15, 2020, and July 15, 2022.
  • Carries an award of $250.
  • The committee requires three copies of books, videos, etc., or digital links. For addresses to which to send copies, please contact EKM Committee Chair Patricia Sawin [email protected]

Back to Prizes