Our WorkPrizes and Grants

Kenneth Goldstein Award for Lifetime Academic Leadership

This award is named for Kenneth Goldstein (1927-1995), chair and for many years the guiding force behind the Department of Folklore and Folklife at the University of Pennsylvania. It recognizes outstanding abilities and achievement by a living scholar in academic leadership relating to folklore. “Leadership” includes folklore program development, organizational and center development, teaching, and advising. The awardee is honored at the American Folklore Society annual meeting, and is given a certificate and a $500 honorarium.

The next review of nominations will take place in 2023. To nominate a candidate for the award, Please submit your nomination via the AFS prize application form by April 15 (of odd-numbered years).

The entire nomination package, including the cover letter, should be no longer than 25 pages. Supporting materials can include a summary of scholarly positions; publications and other scholarly productions; professional and university service; degrees; awards, grants, and honors, letters from colleagues, former and current students, syllabi and course descriptions, and other evidence that speaks to excellence in program development and leadership, teaching, and advising.

Nominees not selected in the year of their original nomination are kept in consideration for two more reviews.

Past Kenneth Goldstein Award Recipients:

Edward D. “Sandy” Ives, University of Maine, emeritus (2003)

Roger D. Abrahams, University of Pennsylvania, emeritus (2005)

Elaine Lawless, University of Missouri (2007)

Daniel W. Patterson, University of North Carolina, emeritus (2009)

Barre Toelken, Utah State University, emeritus (2011)

Margaret (Peggy) Yocom, George Mason University, emerita (2013)

Simon Bronner, Pennsylvania State University (2015)

James P. Leary, University of Wisconsin, emeritus (2017)

Michael Ann Williams, Western Kentucky University (2019)

Dorothy Noyes, The Ohio State University (2021)

Back to Prizes