Our WorkPrizes and Grants

Wayland D. Hand Prize

The Wayland D. Hand Prize awarded by the History and Folklore Section for the best book combining historical and folkloristic methods and materials. The biennial prize honors the eminent folklorist Wayland D. Hand (1907-1986). The winner of the Prize will receive $200 and be recognized at the annual meeting of the American Folklore Society and in an announcement published in the journal Folklore Historian. Organizations and publishers should submit three copies for the judges. The award competition is announced in even numbered years with a deadline of June 1.

A work offered for consideration can be an authored book, edited volume or reference work, or exhibition catalog in ebook or print formats. Submissions can be from authors or publishers. Submit three copies of the bound book or a single PDF file of the ebook for judges BEFORE June 1.

***For the 2022 submissions of the Wayland D. Hand Prize, the deadline of June 1 remains but in consideration of limitations on staff members of presses due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the History and Folklore Section have made an exception this year to allow for submission of electronic copies of books for judges. For more information, contact Simon J. Bronner at [email protected].

  • The 2020 prize was warded to Guy Beiner for his book Forgetful Remembrance: Social Forgetting and Vernacular Historiography of a Rebellion in Ulster (Oxford University Press, 2018). Honorable Mention went to Daniel C. Swan, and Jim Cooley for their book Wedding Clothes and the Osage Community: A Giving Heritage (Indiana University Press. 2019).
  • The 2018 prize was awarded to Margarita Marín-Dale, Decoding Andean Mythology (Salt Lake City: University  of Utah Press, 2016) and Stacy I. Morgan, Frankie and Johnny:Race, Gender, and the Work of African American Folklore in 1930s America (Austin: University of Texas Press, 2017).
  • The 2016 prize was awarded to Daisy Turner’s Kin: An African American Family Saga by Jane C. Beck (University of Illinois Press). Honorable Mentions went to City of Neighborhoods: Memory, Folklore, and Ethnic Place in Boston by Anthony Bak Buccitelli (University of Wisconsin Press), Folksongs of Another America: Field Recordings from the Upper Midwest, 1937-1946 by James P. Leary (University of Wisconsin Press and Dust-to-Digital), and The Amazing Crawfish Boat by John Laudun (University Press of Mississippi).
  • The 2014 prize was awarded to Burley: Kentucky Tobacco in a New Century by Ann K. Ferrell (University Press of Kentucky).
  • The 2012 prize was split between The Irresistible Fairy Tale: The Cultural and Social History of a Genre by Jack Zipes (Princeton University Press) and A Lark for the Sake of Their Country: The 1926 General Strike Volunteers in Folklore and Memory by Rachelle H. Saltzman (Manchester University Press).
  • The 2010 prize was split between Out of the Northwoods: The Many Lives of Paul Bunyan by Michael Edmonds (Wisconsin Historical Society Press) and Linthead Stomp: The Creation of Country Music in the Piedmont South by Patrick Huber (University of North Carolina Press).
  • The 2008 recipient of the Hand Prize was Guy Beiner, for Remembering the Year of the French: Irish Folk History and Social Memory (University of Wisconsin Press, 2006). Honorable mention went to Simon J. Bronner (ed.) for The Meaning of Folklore: The Analytical Essays of Alan Dundes (Utah State University Press, 2007).
  • The Hand Prize for 2006 was awarded to Wolfgang Mieder of the University of Vermont for his Proverbs are the Best Policy: Folk Wisdom and American Politics(Utah State University Press, 2005). An honorable mention was awarded to Folklore in Utah: A History and Guide to Resources, edited by David Stanley of Westminster College in Utah (Utah State University Press, 2004).

Back to Prizes