Members of the 2017 Executive Board met at the Annual Meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

A group of a dozen people smile at the camera.

Executive Board members are elected. Every year, two seats are filled by a vote of the general membership, and one seat is filled by a vote of the Executive Board. AFS members also vote to select a member of the Nominating Committee each year. In alternating years, members vote for a new President.

The slate of candidates is assembled by the Nominating Committee, and reviewed by AFS members before voting begins. AFS members may petition to add additional candidates to the ballot.

President 2022-2023

Marilyn White

Marilyn is a retired professor of anthropology at Kean University, where she taught 1985-2011. Her research centers on African American and family folklore, stratification, and jokes. She has conducted long-term research in Little Cayman.

Amy Skillman headshot

President-Elect 2023 (President 2024 – 2025)

Amy E. Skillman

Amy Skillman is the Academic Director of the MA in Cultural Sustainability at Goucher College. Throughout her career, she has worked in non-profit organizations, higher education institutions, and government agencies to design programs that sustain artistic traditions while striving for cultural equity.

Mintzi Martinez-Rivera

Executive Board 2021-2023

Mintzi is an assistant professor at The Ohio State University. Her research interests include youth culture, cultural continuity and transformation, performance of rituals and festivals, performance of indigenous identity, and vernacular cultural practices in the Americas.

Fernando Orejuela

Executive Board 2021-2023

Fernando is a senior lecturer of folklore and ethnomusicology at Indiana University. His research interests include hip hop music and culture, popular music, subculture studies, body art, and youth cultures among others.

Langston Collin Wilkins

Executive Board 2021-2023

Langston is Director of the Center for Washington Cultural Traditions, a program of Humanities Washington and the Washington State Arts Commission. His research interests include urban folklife, African American folklife, and hip hop culture.

Karen “Queen Nur” Abdul-Malik

Executive Board 2022-2024

Queen Nur is an award-winning International Storyteller, Independent Folklorist and Teaching Artist. For 29 years she has enthralled thousands in over 36 states, West Africa, and Canada.

Tim Frandy

Executive Board 2022-2024

Part of the Sámi American community, Tim Frandy is a public folklorist and an Assistant Professor of Folk Studies at Western Kentucky University, whose work centers on Indigenous communities, decolonization, education, and environments

Rossina Zamora Liu

Executive Board 2022-2024

Rossina Zamora Liu is Assistant Professor in Urban Education and division coordinator of Education Policy and Leadership at the University of Maryland. Her research focuses on interrogating systems of white supremacy and anti-blackness in education, counter-storytelling, and cross-racial solidarity and coalition building.

Meltem Türköz

Executive Board 2022-2024

Meltem Türköz's career has included teaching, work in the public sector and journalism. She has a longstanding interest in peace education, and in arts-based community engagement.

Jerrilyn M. McGregory

Executive Board 2023-2025

Jerrilyn M. McGregory is a professor in folklore in the Department of English, Florida State University. Her career began working for the Philadelphia Folklore Project (PFP) during graduate school at the University of Pennsylvania, where she obtained a PhD in Folklore and Folklife.

Junious Brickhouse

Executive Board 2023-2025

Junious L. Brickhouse is an internationally established, award-winning urban dance educator, choreographer, community leader, and cultural preservationist dedicated to the authentic preservation of urban dance culture and community. Junious has spent over twenty years in dance cyphers and on stages around the world.

Ann Ferrell

Executive Board 2023-2025

Ann K. Ferrell is currently Associate Professor of Folk Studies at Western Kentucky University. Her experience includes undergraduate and graduate teaching, publicly engaged folklore research and programming such as festivals and exhibits, and serving as the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of American Folklore (2016-2020).

Maribel Alvarez

Executive Board 2023-2025

Dr. Maribel Alvarez (University of Arizona and Southwest Folk Alliance) has been elected by the AFS Executive Board to serve as a member of the Board from 2023-2025. She brings extensive fundraising, advocacy, and leadership experience in both public and academic settings through her humanities program-building work that connects the University of Arizona and Southwest Folklife Alliance.

Jessica Turner

Ex Officio

Jessica serves as the Executive Director of the American Folklore Society.  Her research interests include museum studies and ethnic minority performances and heritage tourism in Guangxi Province in southwestern China.