A Sprocket Mural Works mural at the Midtown Cinema in Harrisburg, PA. Photo courtesy of Sean Simmers, PennLive.com July 12, 2016

mural on brick wall says Harrisburg in large letters

The 133rd annual meeting of the American Folklore Society was held virtually October 18-20 and in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, October 21-23.

The theme of the meeting was Natural States: Environment, Politics, and Tradition

Watch What Happened

You can access recordings of some featured events on our YouTube channel. [forthcoming]

The 2021 AFS Annual Meeting Offered Two Ways to Participate

The entire conference took place October 18-23, 2021, as follows:

Virtual Program

The first three days, October 18-20, were exclusively virtual. Most sessions were recorded for asynchronous access. 

Harrisburg Program

Roughly 200 participants gathered October 21–23 at the Hilton Harrisburg in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Some of the events from the in-person meeting were live-streamed and/or recorded.

Check out our FAQs for more general information.

Promotional graphic

Hear from Harrisburg: Virtual Summer Series

You don’t have to go to Harrisburg to learn more about the traditions and perspectives of the diverse communities who live there. The Pennsylvania Council on the Arts made it possible for you to hear from traditional artists and practitioners from central and southern Pennsylvania as they talk about the work they do and how it sustains their communities. 

A man paints a mural on a concrete wall.
Harrisburg is home to the Harrisburg Mural Festival, which works with artists and neighborhoods to create vibrant murals throughout the city. Here, San Francisco-based artist Nathaniel works on his wall on Paxtang Avenue during the 2019 Harrisburg Mural Fest. Sept. 07, 2019. Sean Simmers | [email protected]

2021 Annual Meeting Planning Committee

Program Planning Committee

Simon J. Bronner, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, co-chair
Anthony Bak Buccitelli, Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg, co-chair

Local Arrangements Committee

Brant Ellsworth, Central Penn College, co-chair
Yvonne Milspaw, Harrisburg Area Community College, co-chair

Dan Ben-Amos, University of Pennsylvania
Troy Boyer, Lebanon Valley College
Penny Brady, Visit Harrisburg and Hershey
Danille Christensen, Virginia Tech University
Coralynn Davis, Bucknell University
Joyce Davis, PennLive
Carl Dickson, Dauphin County Parks and Recreation Department
Russell Frank, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Jess Hayden, Susquehanna Folk Music Society
Cory Hutcheson, Kutztown University
Mira Johnson, CUNY, Bronx Community College
Fariha Khan, University of Pennsylvania
Jing Li, Gettysburg College
Anna Wei Marshall, Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg
David Maher, Pennsylvania State Historic Preservation Office (PHMC)
Jim McMahon, Landis Valley Museum
Semontee Mitra, Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg
Gloria Merrick
Dana Payne, Pennsylvania Council on the Arts
Christopher Perez, University of Maryland
David J. Puglia, CUNY, Bronx Community College
Debra Lattanzi Shutika, George Mason University
Amy Skillman, Goucher College
Lenwood Sloan
Kara Rogers Thomas, Frostburg State University
Jeffrey Tolbert, Pennsylvania State University, Harrisburg
Vivian Yenika-Agbaw, Pennsylvania State University, University Park

Questions about the annual meeting? Check our FAQs, or send a message to [email protected].