Tulsa, here we come! The 134th annual meeting of the American Folklore Society will be held October 12–15, in Tulsa, Oklahoma at the Hyatt Regency Tulsa. The theme of the meeting is Re-Centering the Periphery.

We’re planning an accessible in-person meeting.

There are loads of reasons to get excited about Tulsa!

Register now

Check out the Online Program!

Our revised program is now available on the AFS Annual Meeting Hub, full of lectures, events, sessions, and other exciting programming at the upcoming Tulsa meeting. The program is still growing, but there’s already a lot to look forward to! Start browsing and planning your agenda.

There will also be a number of great tours and workshops, some of which will require pre-registration.

Stay tuned for developing information for attendees as well as local information, which are both resources that will grow as we get closer to the meeting.

We sent a message regarding the Review Committee’s acceptance decisions on 7/1/22. Let us know if you submitted a proposal and haven’t yet received a response: [email protected]

We’re Planning an Accessible In-Person Meeting

We’re looking forward to a full-scale gathering in person this year. We can’t wait to see you there!  

This year, in order to continue our initiatives to make the Annual Meeting as widely accessible as possible, we took proposals for virtual paper presentations from those who cannot travel. The Review Committee integrated accepted virtual proposals into a limited number of hybrid panels, whose recordings will be available asynchronously to registrants after the conference.

Key plenary content will be livestreamed for a virtual audience.

photograph of the Center of the Universe landmark in Tulsa, OK
The Center of the Universe is a well-known landmark in downtown Tulsa, Oklahoma. While it is visually just a small concrete circle in the middle of a larger brick circle, it garners interest because it is the site of an acoustic phenomenon; if you stand in the center of the circle and make a sound, it is echoed back to you much louder. Photo by Brad Lovell.

Sponsors, Exhibitors, and Advertisers

Now, more than ever, we have many options for raising awareness of your work, services or products.

Learn more

View from above of many people gathered in a hotel lobby around posters and exhibit tables
Attendees mingle and interact with local artists demonstrating their work at the 2019 Annual Meeting of the American Folklore Society in Baltimore. Photo by Meredith McGriff

2022 Annual Meeting Committee

Review Committee

Theresa Vaughan, Chair
Virginia Siegel
Ross Peterson-Veatch
Erika Peterson-Veatch
Dan Swan
Jason Jackson
Ian Brodie
Moira Marsh
Ellie Dassler
Lisa Higgins
Brent Bjorkman
Mark Miyake
Shelley Ingram
Terri Jordan

Local Arrangements Committee

Sarah Milligan, Chair
Teresa Vaughan
Hayden Roberts
Jason Baird Jackson
Ross Peterson-Veatch
Erika Peterson-Veatch
Molly O’Connor
Virginia Siegel
Eyakem Gulilat
Terri Jordan
Mark Davidson
Kimberly Marshall
Dan Swan
Suzette Chang

Questions about the annual meeting? Check our FAQs, or send a message to [email protected].