Apply Now for 2023 Prizes With Deadlines in September

AFS News, Prizes
multi-color quilt pattern

Prize application season continues! The AFS Newsletter will alert you to new calls for applications, but you can check anytime on our round up of all AFS prizes and news, including new calls for applications that are posted as they are released.

Deadline: September 7

In memory of folklorist Gerald L. Davis and in partnership with the AFS Cultural Diversity Committee (CDC), the American Folklore Society provides a limited number of Gerald L. Davis Grants, ranging from $500 to $2000, to foster the participation, inclusion, and affirmation of persons of color who are invested in community development. Applicants may apply to the Presence Pathway and/or the Project Pathway, choosing the one that best serves their community of practice. Both pathways will include mentorship to welcome and support awardees.

Deadline: September 15

The Barbro Klein Prize in Nordic and Baltic Folklore is awarded by the Nordic and Baltic Folklore Section to a student for an outstanding conference paper, article-length essay, or research-based media production on a folklore topic having to do with Northern Europe and/or the diasporas of its various peoples.

Each year, the Public Programs Section of the American Folklore Society joins with the AFS Executive Board to award the Benjamin A. Botkin Prize of $500 to an individual for significant lifetime achievement in public folklore.

The Folklore and Science Section of the American Folklore Society invites submissions for the 2023 Folklore and Science Prizes. Folklore and Science Prizes are awarded to presentation-length papers (approximately 10 pages of text), focusing on the boundaries, intersections, and interdisciplinary exchanges between folklore and science.

The AFS Public Programs and the Independent Folklorists sections offer an Annual Meeting Award of $750 to attend the AFS Annual Meeting. The award supports costs such as transportation, meeting registration, lodging and/or per diem expenses) for an independent folklorist who is working within the field of public programming to attend the annual meeting and to present their work.

The Aesop Prize and Accolades, awarded by the Children’s Folklore Section, recognize exceptional books, for children or young adults, that are based on folklore.

The Children’s Folklore Section annually offers the W. W. Newell Prize, which includes a $200 award, for the best essay by students or emerging scholars on a topic in children’s folklore.

The Iona and Peter Opie Prize is awarded by the Children’s Folklore Section approximately every two years to the author of the best recently published scholarly book on children’s folklore.

The Folk Arts and Material Culture Section of the American Folklore Society invites submissions for its annual Warren E. Roberts Prize for Best Student Project (Essay or Multi-media) in Folk Art and Material Culture.

The AFS Public Programs Section will provide up to three Archie Green Awards of up to $500 each, named for folklorist and activist Archie Green of San Francisco, to defray travel costs for the annual meeting. The Section is interested in supporting graduate and undergraduate students who have an interest in working as public folklorists, or who have chosen an area of public folklore as a primary topic of research.

Find out more about AFS and AFS Section awards and prizes.

We sometimes make mistakes, and we are happy to correct any errors that you may come across on our site. If you find an error, please let us know using the “submit a correction” link.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Share your news

Have some important news to share? We can help you get it out there! Fill out the submission form and send it our way.