AFS Section Prizes and Award Winners Recognized at 2022 Annual Meeting

AFS News, Annual Meeting News, Prizes
stylized weave of 4 wavy red lines interwoven with 4 more red wavy lines

AFS congratulates winners and honorees and thanks reviewers for their dedication to the field. For more information on prizes and honors awarded by AFS and its sections, please click here.

The Transnational Asia/Pacific Section awarded the 2022 Saboohi I. Khan Award for Student Scholarship in Asian and Asian American Folklore to Lei Ting, a Ph.D. Candidate in the department of Area Studies at the University of Tokyo.

The Folklore and Science Prize – Senior Winner 2022 was awarded to Claiborne Rice, Associate Professor of English in Louisiana State University. The co-recipients the 2022 Folklore & Science Junior Prize are Daisy Ahlstone (Ph.D. student and a Graduate Research Associate at the Ohio State University) and Nicholas Miller (Teaching Assistant and a PhD candidate at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)

The Women’s Section awarded the 2022 Polly Stewart Student Travel Stipend to Millie Tullis, a graduate student at Utah State University.

The Women’s Section also awarded the 2022 Elli Köngäs-Maranda Professional/Non-Student prize to Carrie Hertz, the Curator of Textiles and Dress, Museum of International Folk Art for editing the collection of essays Dressing with Purpose: Belonging and Resistance in Scandinavia (Indiana University Press, 2021). The honorable mention for the 2022 Elli Köngäs-Maranda Professional Prize goes to Mary Magoulick (Georgia College) for the book The Goddess Myth in Contemporary Literature and Popular Culture: A Feminist Critique (University Press of Mississippi 2022). This section also awarded the 2022 Elli Köngäs-Maranda student paper prize to Alina Cash Oprelianska, a Doctoral student at University of Tartu, Estonia. The honorable mention for the 2022 Elli Köngäs Maranda Student Paper Prize honorable goes to Molly McBride, a doctoral student at University of Oregon.

The Women’s and Independent Folklorists’ Sections Annual Meeting Award 2022 was awarded to Justine Orlovsky-Schnitzler, an MA student of Folklore at UNC-Chapel Hill, writer, reproductive justice worker, freelance folklorist and Crystal Good, culture worker, artist, advocate, publisher, and entrepreneur.

The John Wesley Work III Award 2022 was awarded to Karen Collins (African American Miniature Museum).

The Children’s Folklore Section awarded the 2022 Aesop Prizes to A Bedtime Full of Stories, by Angela McAllister and Anna Shepeta, and Blancaflor, The Hero with Secret Powers, by Nadja Spiegelman and Sergio Garcia Sanchez. This section also awarded 2022 Aesop Accolades to awarded to The Man of the Moon, by Gunvor Bjerre and Miki Jacobsen and Across the Rainbow Bridge, by Kevin Crossley-Holland and Jeffrey Alan Love.

The Children’s Folklore Section also awarded the 2022 Iona and Peter Opie Prize to Margaret Bennett (Professor, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland), author of Dundee Street Songs, Rhymes and Games: The William Montgomerie Collection, 1952 (Grace Note Publications, 2021) and Jeanne Pitre Soileau (teacher), author of What the Children Said: Child Lore of South Louisiana (University Press of Mississippi, 2021).

The Children’s Folklore Section also awarded the 2022 W. W. Newell Prize was awarded to Nikki Christensen (Utah State University) and Stephen Lochetto (Penn State University Harrisburg).

The Folk Belief and Religious Folklife Section awarded the 2022 Elaine J. Lawless Graduate Student Travel Award to Millie Tullis (Utah State University). This section also awarded the 2022 Don Yoder Prize for the Best Graduate Student Paper in Religious Folklife and Folk Belief to Daisy Ahlstone (The Ohio State University and Folkwise), and the 2022 William A. Wilson Prize for the Best Undergraduate Student Paper in Religious Folklife and Folk Belief to Joelle Jackson (Indiana University).

The History and Folklore Section awarded the 2022 Wayland D. Hand Prize to Tyler D. Parry, the assistant professor of African American and African Diaspora Studies, University of Nevada-Las Vegas.

The Public Programming Section awarded the 2022 Archie Green Student Travel Award to Micah Ling (a PhD candidate at Indiana University Bloomington) and Sylas Alvarez (student at Western Kentucky University). This section also awarded the Independent Folklorists’ Section awarded the 2022 Independent and Public Folklorist Sections Travel Award to Phoebe Millerwhite, an independent folklorist, artist, and educator.

The Barbro Klein Prize in Nordic and Baltic Folklore 2022 was awarded to Mirva Johnson, a PhD Candidate in the Department of German, Nordic, and Slavic at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The Foodways Section of the American Folklore Society awarded the 2022 Sue Samuelson Award to Anna Reepschlager, a master’s student at Memorial University.

We sometimes make mistakes, and we are happy to correct any errors that you may come across on our site. If you find an error, please let us know using the “submit a correction” link.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Share your news

Have some important news to share? We can help you get it out there! Fill out the submission form and send it our way.